Daisy Award

Nurses at Perry Memorial Hospital are being honored with The DAISY Award For Extraordinary Nurses. The award is part of the DAISY Foundation’s program to recognize the superhuman efforts nurses perform every day.

Nurses may be nominated by patients, families and colleagues, and they are chosen by a committee of nurses at Perry Memorial Hospital to receive The DAISY Award. Awards are given throughout the year at presentations in front of the nurse’s colleagues, physicians, patients and visitors. Each Honoree will receive a certificate commending her or him for being an “Extraordinary Nurse.”  The certificate reads: “In deep appreciation of all you do, who you are, and the incredibly meaningful difference you make in the lives of so many people.” The Honoree will also be given a beautiful and meaningful sculpture called A Healer’s Touch, hand-carved by artists of the Shona Tribe in Africa.

The not-for-profit DAISY Foundation is based in Glen Ellen, CA, and was established by family members in memory of J. Patrick Barnes. Patrick died at the age of 33 in late 1999 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), a little-known but not uncommon autoimmune disease. The care Patrick and his family received from nurses while he was ill inspired this unique means of thanking nurses for making a profound difference in the lives of their patients and patient families.

Said Bonnie Barnes, FAAN, President and Co-Founder of The DAISY Foundation, “When Patrick was critically ill, our family experienced first-hand the remarkable skill and care nurses provide patients every day and night. Yet these unsung heroes are seldom recognized for the superhuman work they do. The kind of work the nurses at Perry Memorial Hospital are called on to do every day epitomizes the purpose of The DAISY Award.”

More information is available at http://DAISYfoundation.org.

To nominate a Perry Memorial Hospital nurse, please download this form and email to: pmhdaisyaward@perrymemorial.org.


Past DAISY Award Recipients


  • George Behrens
  • Kathy Long
  • Hannah Mellentine
  • Sondra Heidenreich